Top things this week

-Seeing my friend Rachel Spencer perform Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in their Masterclass session at the City Halls. Also performing were Graeme Brown, bassoon, Glynn Forrest, marimba, and Jonathan Wettermark, trombone.

-Working on the Walton in collaboration with my teacher (Jane Atkins) and my accompanist for the competition (Scott Mitchell) to develop my own version of bowings, fingerings, tempos and phrasings

-Hearing about community music projects ‘The Big Noise’ (based in Raploch, Stirling) and ‘Givin’ It Laldie’ (based in the Gorbals, Glasgow) at the Music Learning Live conference – amazing work and very inspirational! The best part of both talks was seeing the children from both projects perform – the enthusiasm and dedication of these young kids is wonderful to see. In the Big Noise after school orchestra, the children are aged from 7 to 11. When I asked the leader of the orchestra what she wanted to do in the future she said without hesitation, ‘I want to be a hairdresser and a violinist, at the same time!’ After the presentation, I talked to one of the staff members and she said that I could arrange to visit the project sometime, which I will definitely try and do.

Leave a Reply

