Reflective practice journal themes

‘Reflection is learning through experience… It is a complex activity that requires the individual to develop a set of skills required for problem solving’ (Jennifer Moon)

 


I have been struggling with how to start writing entries for my ‘Reflective Practice Journal’ (part of my ‘Integrative studies’ module – again, don’t ask), so I thought I would try and brainstorm a few ideas that would help me focus my thoughts:

  • How I practise (and how I should be practising!)
  • New ways of working/practising and learning to implement them so I get the best out of them
  • What I learn from lessons/rehearsals/masterclasses and how this will improve my playing
  • Reflections on life at music college (versus life at university)
  • Evaluation of performances
  • Problems with my playing and how to overcome them
  • Experiences of the profession eg gigs, side by side projects
  • Learning new techniques
  • New repertoire – background, why chosen, what recordings I listen to
  • General reflections on life as a musician or viola playing

Now, I suppose I have to start writing it….

Leave a Reply

